The post you’ve seen before

Standard

I feel like I read this post every few months. The one where a blogger admits that they’ve started running. That they didn’t realize it could actually be fun. That a few months ago they could only run 30 seconds at a time, and that was rough, and now they’re running a 5K.

Now it’s my turn.

On April 17 I went for a walk outside. Geoff was at school and I didn’t have the energy to get into the car and drive down to the gym, so I went for a walk. This was two days after the Boston Marathon bombings, mind. Something that hit home like no other recent disaster, because my dad was at mile 24.2. I have no idea if that’s what prompted my random, I think I’ll try to run a little bit idea, but that’s what I did.

The next day I started the C25K program. I cannot recommend it enough for anyone who literally wants to go from walking to running in a few months. For that person who thinks you can’t do it? You actually can, with this program. The first week I ran for 30 seconds and walked for a minute. That wasn’t bad. Then I started running for a minute at a time. OK, getting tougher. Last week I ran for 15 minutes straight. On June 8 I ran my first 5K.

megg run

Here’s the cliche part of the post. If you’d told me at the beginning of April that I’d run a 5K in 2 month’s time, I’d have laughed in your face. I’d have told you I am not a runner, I have no desire to run, and that if you saw me running you better run too, because clearly something’s coming after me.

Am I a runner now? Can I call myself a runner? With one 5K under my belt and another planned for the Fourth of July, I think I can finally call myself a runner. I have a PR, I have a goal, and I have a plan. Will I be running a half or full marathon any time soon? Probably not. At this point the idea of running for 3-4+ hours straight really isn’t that attractive, but I’ll no longer laugh in your face if you suggest it.

For now, I’m enjoying my shorter runs, and the accomplished feeling that comes with achieving a goal that used to seem unattainable.

 

About Megg

I'm a 28 year old, newly married, newly living in Washington, librarian trying to find a job in a library. Meanwhile I'm working with kids and spend my afternoons playing Mancala and reading picture books. Come along for the journey as I share recipes, decoration ideas, photos, and hopefully gain some insight from the internet and fellow bloggers.

3 responses »

  1. Proud of you for sticking with it! I should hop back on my treadmill. I haven’t run in weeks now, and I was really proud of myself for getting as far as I did! I ended up injuring myself and haven’t quite regained the ground I lost from that. :S

    How often are you running a week? I know you do lots of different exercises.

  2. Pingback: In 2013 we… | librarian, housewife, writer

What do you think?

