Sprouts!

Standard

No matter how old I get, I still find it fascinating to see seeds sprouting through the dirt.

On Saturday Geoff and found a farmer’s market in the area. We bought local honey (and honey sticks), a delicious mixture for chicken parm that we had Monday night, and mostly just walked and looked. Since it’s still a little cool here for growing things, there were many more crafts than produce, but we still had fun.
After that I was inspired to start our own garden. Since we live in a townhouse there really isn’t the place for a garden, however I have noticed a fair amount of our neighbors with plants and pots on their balcony, so I thought I’d give it a try myself. As it happens, our balcony faces the east and gets a lot of sun, which is important up here in the Pacific Northwest!
Anyway, as you can see, my seeds aren’t ready to go outside, but they are growing fast. I will keep updating their status, and hopefully we will be eating some yummy home-grown cucumbers, sugar snap peas, squash, zucchini and tomatoes! Or at least some of those things, since I can’t guarantee they will all live to see the sun!

For now, I’m just enjoying watching them grow!

About Megg

I'm a 28 year old, newly married, newly living in Washington, librarian trying to find a job in a library. Meanwhile I'm working with kids and spend my afternoons playing Mancala and reading picture books. Come along for the journey as I share recipes, decoration ideas, photos, and hopefully gain some insight from the internet and fellow bloggers.

What do you think?

