Deliciously non-healthy soup!

Standard

Growing up I loved soup. Two different kinds, in fact. Campbells chicken noodle and Campbells tomato soup. That’s right, I had no taste! Although I later discovered that adding fat free cheese to the tomato soup makes it very yummy, there is nothing quite like a good, hearty soup.

(Image courtesy of Google images)

Sadly, I wasn’t to discover a good hearty soup until very recently. I have never been a creative cook, and I, unfortunately enjoy some very bland foods. I am trying very hard to branch out, however, especially since I married someone who does not do bland foods! Therefore, I’ve been experimenting more and more with my cooking. Obviously over the summer I did not cook soups, but a recent drop in temperatures has led me to try a few new soups!
One, a hearty tomato soup is a recipe of my grandmother’s that is delicious in the winter. I will share that recipe soon, but for now I want to share the Homemade Baked Potato Soup that I recently discovered thanks to The Frugal Girl! I have to say that this is amazing. For someone who loves Panara’s Baked Potato Soup, I enjoyed making 6 times the amount of soup for the same price! Or close to, anyway.

With 1 1/3 cup of butter, a cup of sour cream, nearly 2 cups of cheese and a pound of bacon, this recipe is nowhere near as healthy as I should be eating right now. However, I must say that it is not only delicious, but made 7 servings for Geoff and I! And bonus, it was a hit with the hubby!

I did make it slightly more healthy, however, and it didn’t seem to suffer. (Although, thankfully since I never tried it with full fat, I don’t know what else to compare it to, which is good!) I used light sour cream, skim milk and light cheese (not fat free, though I’m sure that would work too, since it gets all mixed up in there). Even better, I was able to use up some potatoes that were growing eyes! (Don’t worry, I cut that part off)

So, what kind of hearty soups do you like in the winter? And a big thank you to the Frugal Girl for turning me onto this recipe!

About Megg

I'm a 28 year old, newly married, newly living in Washington, librarian trying to find a job in a library. Meanwhile I'm working with kids and spend my afternoons playing Mancala and reading picture books. Come along for the journey as I share recipes, decoration ideas, photos, and hopefully gain some insight from the internet and fellow bloggers.

What do you think?

