Updated House List

Standard


Back in January I put together a house list of things I wanted to accomplish this year. Since we’re a little more than halfway through the year, I thought it as appropriate to update my list!
Crossed out items, obviously, are finished, but I italicized the items that I’m in the process of, or are coming up soon.


Living room:

  • Hang a wedding picture on the wall
    • This is in progress because I recently bought an Eversave Seattle deal for a canvas print. I only ordered one, which will go over the mantle, but depending on how that comes out I will move forward with the living room pictures.
  • Hang and decorate with frame shadow boxes (I will post about these when I hang them up; they were another Freecycle find!)
    • I did hang these in the bedroom, and there are a few things on them! My mom is bringing some things from home that I think I will put on the boxes.
  • Get a new rug
  • Hang the mirror (a gift that I haven’t gotten around to hanging up yet)
  • Get 2 chairs and sell the Freecycle couch (or at least get rid of it, but I’m hoping to sell it!)
  • Get a small coffee table 
    • Just completed this weekend! I will post about that soon.

Kitchen:

  • Replace switch plate covers 
    • I don’t believe I posted about these but I bought coffee switch plate covers from Etsy, to match the coffee theme in our kitchen.
  • Get a new dining room table 
    • This is not feasible right now, based on the space we have so I’m putting this off until later when I decide how to proceed.
  • Find a nicer way to store our plastic to-go containers (please tell me I’m not the only one who battles with this!!)
  • Fix screen door
  • Stain deck (OK, this is outside, but it’s off the kitchen, so that counts!)
    • This may or may not happen this year. It is a lot of work, and since it’s already August it might have to wait until next summer.

Den:
  • Get his and her recliners and a couch
    • We are actively saving for this!
  • Sell Freecycle sectional (seeing a pattern here?)
    • This will happen after we buy the recliners, of course.
  • Hang Dark Side of the Moon poster (it needs to be leveled…it’s kinda a pain to hang, but it needs to be done!)
    • Debating whether or not I want to do this…it might make the wall too crowded.
  • Replace switch plate covers
    • I have yet to find something I like!
  • Fix weather stripping on the door to the garage
  • Replace door to garage? (I’m not sure if we want to or need to do this, but it has a doggie door that we don’t use, so a new one might be nice)
    • Since the current one works fine, I’m not stressing about this right now.
  • Find better curtains
    • When my mom comes to visit we’re going to go shopping! Curtains are going to be my birthday present this year.

Master bedroom:
  • Hang something above the bed (we have a big, empty wall!)
  • Sand and refinish my bedside table
  • Build a stand for the TV and DVD player
Office:
  • Repair and rehang broken frame
  • Mount speakers on the wall 
    • We decided to sell these instead, to no avail at the moment
  • Find a desk with more storage 
    • Thank you Craigslist! They even delivered!
  • Sell the desk we currently have 
    • Again, Craigslist!
  • Organize!!!
Guest room:
  • Find a small mirror or full length mirror to hang
  • Replace or paint dresser
  • Spray paint bed frame white
    • This is on my list of goals this August. We’ll see if it happens.

About Megg

I'm a 28 year old, newly married, newly living in Washington, librarian trying to find a job in a library. Meanwhile I'm working with kids and spend my afternoons playing Mancala and reading picture books. Come along for the journey as I share recipes, decoration ideas, photos, and hopefully gain some insight from the internet and fellow bloggers.

What do you think?

