Table transformation

Standard

So, once upon a time, there was this table. I picked it up from Freecycle and embarrassing number of months ago (I think it was actually back in October, of last year) and it just sat in our garage. I kept telling myself that if I had a palm sander, I would refinish it, but I just couldn’t seem to find someone to borrow one from or a good one to buy on Craigslist. Finally, however, I found a brand new sander on Craigslist for $20 and decided it was finally time to refinish this table.
It was a kid’s art table before I got my hands on it, and it was in rough condition. It took a lot of work and sanding (which was strangely satisfying, to be perfectly honest) but I managed to sand it down and sand out the bumps and, finally, refinish it. (I did have help in the final stages, I must add. Not to leave Geoff out)

And there it is. I can’t even believe it myself, it’s a completely different table. The funny thing is, I originally wanted to use this table in my front room pictured here, but I found something else I like more (which is probably another project for another time!) However, now that I get it in the room to take pictures to sell it on Craigslist, I see that it’s just too big for the room, so it’s just as well. Plus, I would rather have the darker color in this room because it would match the refinished side table in there.

And so, this refinished, refurbished art table, ready to “retire to a family room, living room or den,” as the ad says, is for sale on Craigslist. Considering it was free, and the materials cost about $30 (after you add in the sander), I’d be happy even if we only broke even, especially since I will use the sander again. I already have another project lined up!

What do you think?

About Megg

I'm a 28 year old, newly married, newly living in Washington, librarian trying to find a job in a library. Meanwhile I'm working with kids and spend my afternoons playing Mancala and reading picture books. Come along for the journey as I share recipes, decoration ideas, photos, and hopefully gain some insight from the internet and fellow bloggers.

What do you think?

