2012 House List!

Standard

Since my 2011 house list was mildly successful (thanks to the encouraging comments I received!) I thought I would try again for 2012!

We are really lucky in that our house was “move-in ready” as they say on House Hunters. The walls were all freshly painted (although we did repaint a few rooms ourselves) and there were no major repairs that needed to be done. Thus, I was able to focus on fun, cosmetic or decorating aspects of the house. Here’s what I’m hoping 2012 will bring:

Living room:

  • Paint the Freecycle chairs
  • Repair the grandfather clock
  • Hang the ceiling fan

Kitchen/outside:

  • Stain the deck
  • Clean up the backyard garden
  • Replace or repair the screen door
  • Get patio furniture
  • Organize the pantry/closet
Den:
  • Get new furniture
  • Get rid of the Freecycle sectional
  • Fix the weather stripping on the garage door!
  • Find a nice mat/rug for the garage door (inside)
  • Hard wire the cable
Master Bedroom:
  • Find something to hang over the bed. (I know what I want now!)
  • Refinish/repair the hope chest (This was inherited from Geoff’s grandmother, and needs a few minor repairs)
  • Replace my Ikea dresser
  • Get a ceiling fan and hang it
Office:
  • Recycle desktop computer
  • Set up Geoff’s Ham radio stuff
  • Sell futon (it’s just too big for that room!)
  • Find a suitable futon replacement (I do like having a spare bed in addition to the guest room)
Guest room:
  • Paint the bed frame white!
  • Replace or repaint dresser (I think I will paint it.)
General house projects:
  • Get the carpets cleaned
What do you think? Can I do it all this year?

About Megg

I'm a 28 year old, newly married, newly living in Washington, librarian trying to find a job in a library. Meanwhile I'm working with kids and spend my afternoons playing Mancala and reading picture books. Come along for the journey as I share recipes, decoration ideas, photos, and hopefully gain some insight from the internet and fellow bloggers.

What do you think?

