Master Baking Mix!

Standard

As a frugalista-wanna-be, I’m always looking for new ways to save money. For example, this week I’m going to call our trash company to get a smaller trash bin. I’ve noticed that we rarely fill it, as we typically only have 1 bag of trash a week. Yay for saving a little money!

I have also pulled out this cookbookall over again, and I love it! I love when I rediscover an old cookbook.

It’s a collection of Mennonite recipes, a community collection. It may not be the most exciting looking cookbook inside, but it’s full of gems.
The ingredients of the recipes are limited, which is nice because often they are what you have in the house. It’s about stretching the ingredients you already have (though I often have to go buy the required vegetables) and making a meal out of them. The meals aren’t gourmet, and some are plain, but they’re good, and I love the whole, “more with less” mentality too.

One of my favorite recipes in this book really isn’t a recipe. It’s called the Master Baking Mix, and it’s basically Bisquick. From this mix, which makes up to 8 pounds, you can make biscuits, pancakes, coffee cake, muffins, and probably a lot of other things that you can make with Bisquick. The nice part is there are 6 or 7 ingredients, and I can pronounce all of them.

Master Baking Mix (recipe for 4 pounds, half or double as necessary):
Combine:
10 C flour
6 T baking powder
1 1/2 T salt
1 1/2 t cream of tarter
1/4 C sugar

Cut in until the consistency of cornmeal:
2 C shortening

Stir in 2 C dry milk powder (optional, but it will add more protein)

That’s it! Store in an airtight container at room temperature. I keep mine on the counter.

Then? Cook with it! There are a lot of recipes you can use Bisquick with, and it’s so easy to just scoop out a cup or two of the master baking mix. Cost-wise, I don’t know how it compares with a box of Bisquick, but I like the limited ingredients and no preservatives. It can also be made gluten free, if you use the right flour.

We use it most often for pancakes!
1 C milk
1 egg
1 1/2 C master baking mix

That’s it!
It’s small, but it’s frugal, and even these little things make me happy.

About Megg

I'm a 28 year old, newly married, newly living in Washington, librarian trying to find a job in a library. Meanwhile I'm working with kids and spend my afternoons playing Mancala and reading picture books. Come along for the journey as I share recipes, decoration ideas, photos, and hopefully gain some insight from the internet and fellow bloggers.

2 responses »

What do you think?

