Kitty day care??

Standard

The other day, in an attempt to find someone reasonably priced to groom the matts out of Hermione, I came across what is possibly the biggest waste of pet money I’ve ever seen. Kitty daycare.

Now, I understand doggy daycare. Some dogs just need interaction while their family is out of the house. I understand the overnight care, of course, though I prefer to pay my neighbors in IHOP gift cards for watching our cats in the house. But kitty daycare? Really?

I’m pretty sure my cats are thrilled to pieces whenever we leave the house. I’m also pretty sure they sleep the whole time because all Clarabelle does with her life is sleep, and Hermione tears through the house at night so I know she gets her sleep in during the day.

So what, pray tell, is kitty daycare all about?? I especially love the picture on the site:

What’s the story behind this? Kitty mom watches happily while her fur baby is brushed. Meanwhile, she has time to hold her human baby while she sleeps. Thank goodness for Kitty Daycare at Petsmart!
The best part is the description: This service is great if you need a place for your cat to spend the day while you’re away. Your feline friend will stay in one of our Kitty Cottages and enjoy personalized “TLC Time” with one of our caring associates.

I looked in the overnight care section, and I’m pretty sure “Kitty Cottages” is just another word for cages. Which might be fine if you have to leave your cat there for a week, but wouldn’t kitty be happier to wander the house during the day?

There are some things in this world that I just don’t understand, although I do get much amusement out of this one.

Would you ever bring your cat to kitty daycare? Am I the only one who just doesn’t understand the concept??

About Megg

I'm a 28 year old, newly married, newly living in Washington, librarian trying to find a job in a library. Meanwhile I'm working with kids and spend my afternoons playing Mancala and reading picture books. Come along for the journey as I share recipes, decoration ideas, photos, and hopefully gain some insight from the internet and fellow bloggers.

6 responses »

  1. Um, I think Sine would be TERRIFIED if we took her to kitty day care. She’d probably freak out she’d be going back to shelter. No thanks.

  2. I think it’s ridiculous. And a waste of money! Mom and Dad let the little girls next door take care of Noah, which teaches them responsibility.

  3. It’s very weird to drop them off for the day. The only situation I can think of would be a grooming appointment at an inconvenient time. I could drop her off in the morning, she’ll get groomed/bathed and then I would pick her up after work. That I understand, but dropping Caty off for the day for no reason at all would just make her super mad at me.

What do you think?

