Before and during…

Standard

Since it’s likely going to be another month before I actually finish this project, I thought I’d post a during update on the chairs I’m painting.
Before I get started, I have to say that this is the biggest decorative/freecycle refurbishing that I’ve undertaken yet. It’s a big deal, for me.

I love my living room, and those two wingback chairs were the last to arrive (via Freecycle). They make the room, and are exactly what I envisioned when we first bought the house going on 2 years ago. Unfortunately, I wasn’t a fan of the 1989 blue and flower fabric.

Chair, before.



I know it’s from 1989, by the way, from the tag under the cushion.
Since it was a nice, sunny afternoon, I pulled the chair out of the garage, and started painting. I followed this tutorial.

Here it is after 1 coat. Alternately titled, it gets worse before it gets better.

And here is after 2 coats. It took me a couple hours (I wasn’t timing myself, so I’m not sure how long exactly), and you can tell it’s later in the afternoon from the progression of my pictures!

It still needs another coat with acrylic craft paint, apparently. I’m going to see what it feels like after it dries, because it’s currently a little stiff. I haven’t poked it too much, though since it’s wet and all. From what I’ve seen online, however, they’re not cuddling chairs. Which is OK, because my living room is more for show anyway!

Oh, and I’m using cornucopia, by Martha Stewart because I loved The Hunger Games it matched the curtains best in the living room. I can’t tell without dragging the whole chair in there, but I think it’ll go great in the room!

Stay turned for the completed project!

About Megg

I'm a 28 year old, newly married, newly living in Washington, librarian trying to find a job in a library. Meanwhile I'm working with kids and spend my afternoons playing Mancala and reading picture books. Come along for the journey as I share recipes, decoration ideas, photos, and hopefully gain some insight from the internet and fellow bloggers.

13 responses »

  1. Pingback: April goal review and May goals « librarian, housewife, writer

  2. Pingback: Mash-up Monday « librarian, housewife, writer

  3. Pingback: May goal review and June goals! « librarian, housewife, writer

    • They certainly aren’t soft, but not crunchy. Somewhere in between. I sanded it down and that made it smooth to the touch. It’s not the most comfortable chair in the world, but it’s for our living room anyway, where few people sit so I’m not concerned about that. It’s not uncomfortable though. I just wouldn’t curl up in it or anything!

      • That’s very interesting. Thanks for the info, I may use that soon. Isn’t it funny how living rooms are rarely used? I’m trying to come up with purposes for our living room, other than “showcasing” pretty furniture.

        • I know exactly what you mean! Our living room is the first room you see when you walk in the door, so I want it to look nice. But the TV is in another room (back, off the garage) so that’s the one we use most often! That’s also why I didn’t want to spend a lot of money on the furniture!

  4. Pingback: June goal review and July goals! « librarian, housewife, writer

  5. Pingback: July goal review and August goals! « librarian, housewife, writer

  6. Pingback: Obligatory August goals and September goals « librarian, housewife, writer

  7. Pingback: Painted upholstery chair reveal! « librarian, housewife, writer

What do you think?

