My dreams of marriage

Standard

I used to lie awake at night, talking to Geoff long after I should have gone to bed, dreaming about marriage. Amidst the jokes about kids, and being lazy, and getting breakfast cooked for me (all of which happen or will happen, in the case of kids), I always looked forward to gardening with my husband.

Last year we had a small, successful garden. This year we started our plants from seeds, so I spent a couple weeks taking them in and out of the garage at night, watering, stressing, and rejoicing when I finally see something growing.

On Saturday we laid out our plants, planted them in the garden along with a little compost dirt, and watered! It was hot and I was sweaty, but it was exactly what I’d always imagined doing as a married couple, so I enjoyed it.

This year’s garden has lettuce (a different type from last year), tomatoes, carrots, pumpkins, sugar snap peas, zucchini and cucumber. Our plants are small, but hardy, and I expect to see significant growth in the next few weeks!

I never thought I’d love working in the yard, but working in my yard, with my husband? It’s actually a lot of fun.

 

About Megg

I'm a 28 year old, newly married, newly living in Washington, librarian trying to find a job in a library. Meanwhile I'm working with kids and spend my afternoons playing Mancala and reading picture books. Come along for the journey as I share recipes, decoration ideas, photos, and hopefully gain some insight from the internet and fellow bloggers.

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: The compost that just keeps on giving… « librarian, housewife, writer

What do you think?

