A penchant for moving

Standard

My sister and I, apparently have a penchant for moving cross country.

When I was a kid I never gave a thought to where I’d be living as an adult. Even when I met and started dating Geoff, I didn’t think about where I’d be living when we got married. I believe life falls into place the way it’s supposed to. You end up where you need to be in the end, and it doesn’t matter if the road is long and winding before you get there. It all works out in the end.

Here’s my moving timeline:
February 2008: Move from Massachusetts to North Idaho/South Washington {accompanied by my dad}
June 2008: Move from North Idaho to South Idaho {accompanied by Geoff}
August 2008: Move from South Idaho to Alabama {accompanied by sister-in-law Becky}
December 2009: Move from Alabama to Massachusetts {accompanied by my mom}
January 2010: Move to Seattle. Buy a house and decide to never move again. {Car and best man in our wedding took this trip alone!}

My poor car has traveled cross country three times.

Though it’s not nearly as dramatic as my moves, my sister graduated from college in Chicago last May, moved to LA in August, and decided to move back to Chicago this summer, in early July. Hey, life happens. Minds are changed, and decisions made. We’re lucky to have two things: A mom and dad who support us no matter what we decide to do and 4 wheels that have carried us much further than they ever imagined.

I’m on the road again, this time with the only family member I haven’t road tripped with yet; my sister.

Itinerary to date:

Day 1: LA to Vegas, have lunch. Vegas to Williams, Arizona (near Grand Canyon park)

Day 2: SEE THE GRAND CANYON which has been on my bucket list forever. After that…who knows?

Now I need your help. There are a lot of states between California and Illinois…what do we need to see?? And are you jealous that we’re going to be taking this awesome road trip, or just relieved that you won’t be in a car with my sister and I in the middle of summer? Really, either feeling is completely acceptable.

About Megg

I'm a 28 year old, newly married, newly living in Washington, librarian trying to find a job in a library. Meanwhile I'm working with kids and spend my afternoons playing Mancala and reading picture books. Come along for the journey as I share recipes, decoration ideas, photos, and hopefully gain some insight from the internet and fellow bloggers.

9 responses »

  1. Jealous actually! Feel free to bring my kids so I can go on my own road trip, hHAHA.
    So I just saw this on pinterest the other day: http://www.onthewayapp.com
    “Type in your starting destination and your ending destination, and it will find ALL SORTS of things for you to do, see, eat, play along the way”

  2. You should totally check out The Wave on the AZ/UT border. It’s a gamble as to whether you can go or not, but if you /can/ it’s totally worth the 6 mile hike (round trip) through the desert. So cool. And, if you happen to stop in Kanab, UT (the only reason you would go there would be for the Wave, b/c it’s maybe 4 square miles of town) you should go to the Three Bears Cafe. Because they have sweet potato tots with a butterscotch dipping sauce. OUT OF THIS WORLD DELICIOUS.

  3. Pingback: I love The Bean « librarian, housewife, writer

  4. Pingback: June goal review and July goals! « librarian, housewife, writer

  5. Oh, Williams, AZ is really cute!! That’s where we stopped on our Los Angeles –> Pittsburgh cross country move. And LA to Vegas is a pretty easy drive, just bring a loooooot of water in your car (true story, just driving through the desert makes you super thirsty).

    When you get to Williams, I recommend this restaurant: http://www.pinecountryrestaurant.com/ It’s kind of like an independently-owned Bob Evans. Yummy cooking, and healthy options (I had a great salad there).

    Oh, and since I know you are a nerd like me, if you’re going to Grand Canyon and you aren’t already aware of the National Parks Passport book, you should check it out (http://passport.eparks.com/store/product/22515/*Passport%C2%AE-To-Your-National-Parks*/). I know you are goal-oriented, and this lets you get passport stamps at each of the national parks/monuments/battlefields/etc. in the country. We got ours last year, but haven’t actually gotten a chance to visit any of the parks for a stamp yet (have one planned in August). You can order it online, and I think some of the parks carry them, too.

    Have fun! Can’t wait to see pictures!! šŸ™‚

    • Wow, thanks for the tips! I plan on updating every day (as long as our hotels have wireless!) so I don’t overwhelm people with pictures at the end!

  6. Pingback: July goal review and August goals! « librarian, housewife, writer

What do you think?

