Frugal Mash-up

Standard

Mrs. Monologues started this new link-up and I love it! I love random stuff, and I recently had a great run at the thrift stores, so I thought this was the perfect way to show you what I got!

First, however, if you are a member of my family (extended and immediate!) don’t read any further! There are some Christmas gifts here 🙂 Nothing huge (a small portion of something bigger) but I don’t want any spoilers. So why don’t you go read something else, instead like…this.

Gone? OK lets get down to business!

The other day I was driving home from work when I saw this:

Why yes, that is one of those chairs/stools for little kids. (Sorry for the crappy iPhone picture)

No, I don’t have kids, I just happen to find these things adorable. Plus, it was on the side of the road and free. Who could turn it down? It’s also solid wood, and not stained, so I could potentially stain or paint it! When the time comes. It goes well with the wooden cradle I found at the thrift store last year. (Similar to this one, only mine was $20). Yes, I know I have issues.

Anyway! After I found that, I decided to visit the local thrift stores to see if they have any frames. It’s no secret that I love frames, and these are perfect for presents! Since we got professional pictures done this year, I thought it was perfect for the moms/grandmas in our lives!

I totally lucked out! I spent $11 total, and got these three frames, plus a birthday present for my brother-in-law! The frame in the middle is for my sister-in-law. I plan on putting a wedding picture in, an ultrasound picture, then a picture of both mom and dad alone with their baby that’s due in October! I think it’s sweet and she loves the phrase in the middle.

For my brother-in-law, a beer drinker, I found this:

 I haven’t visited or heard of this brewery, but I liked it because it’s in Massachusetts! I stated as much in the card. Hopefully he won’t mind that it’s 3 weeks late.

So here we are, starting plans for Christmas early. Well, it’s not like I haven’t done it in the past!

About Megg

I'm a 28 year old, newly married, newly living in Washington, librarian trying to find a job in a library. Meanwhile I'm working with kids and spend my afternoons playing Mancala and reading picture books. Come along for the journey as I share recipes, decoration ideas, photos, and hopefully gain some insight from the internet and fellow bloggers.

One response »

  1. Pingback: It’s just me…blog star link-up! « librarian, housewife, writer

What do you think?

