On Embarrassment

Standard

I’m linking up for Mama Kat’s writer’s workshop. The prompt is “write about a time your child embarrassed you in public.” Since I don’t have a child, I decided to write about a time my dad embarrassed me. I’m fudging the prompt a bit, deal with it 🙂

I was 12 years old and my dad couldn’t be more embarrassing. He would pull out an old driver’s license which showed hair past his shoulders. He would show up and, God forbid, talk to my friends. He would wear socks that didn’t match, and show people. He was downright humiliating. The worst part was, everyone else thought he was funny! Didn’t anyone see what I saw?

To prefice what happened this Saturday night, you have to know a little about me in middle school. When I was in middle school our church youth group was very small and tight. We would often get together for games on Saturday nights, or after youth group. One of our favorite things to do was watch The Princess Bride. To this day I still can quote the whole movie because I watched it so many times! On this particular night we were at the house of a volunteer, playing Balderdash. It was fun, and when it was time to go home , I called my house for a ride. My dad showed up shortly after, because we only lived down the street.

I got up to let him in and he walked into the room. Wearing an eye mask and proclaiming he was the Dread Pirate Roberts.

The mask looked like this. My dad, unfortunately, doesn’t look like Carey Elwes.

My friends never let me live that night down, at least for a few years. To this day, my dad is still known as “Cool Mr. Steve” to many of my childhood friends. The difference? I now look back and laugh at the so-called humiliations and imagine the fun and silly ways my own husband may embarrass our future children.

Oh and dad? I love you, too.

Mama’s Losin’ It

About Megg

I'm a 28 year old, newly married, newly living in Washington, librarian trying to find a job in a library. Meanwhile I'm working with kids and spend my afternoons playing Mancala and reading picture books. Come along for the journey as I share recipes, decoration ideas, photos, and hopefully gain some insight from the internet and fellow bloggers.

7 responses »

    • It was years before I realized he was doing it because he loves me 🙂 He loved getting a rise out of me! I just like looking back on it and laughing!

  1. It’s funny – my friends always thought my dad was cool, too. I was always worried he’d do something embarrassing. I have to say, turning up in a mask would be pretty out-there!

  2. I LOVE IT!! Remember the time he dropped off a schoolbook for you, and then that night he was like “Megg, did any of your friends say anything about me? No? wow, I can’t believe they didn’t say anything” and you like hyperventilated because he DID SOMETHING and you didn’t know what it was? But then he didn’t actually do anything except drop the book off at the office?

    I love that story.

What do you think?

