Hello, my name is Megg, and I’m addicted to pictures

Standard

Once, I babysat for a family who had pictures everywhere. On the walls, on the mantle, snapshots on the fridge. Everywhere you turned there were pictures, both professional and candid, all over their house. I was only in high school, but I swore I’d make my home the same, when I got one.

Needless to say, I’m now addicted to frames. Every wall space in my house is filled. It’s not all pictures; our TV room has a movie/TV/book theme, but there are pictures on the mantle, and a wedding canvas hanging over the fireplace. There are pictures on bookshelves, pictures on the wall, and the coffee tables. There’s a picture on Geoff’s bedside table, and another hanging by my dresser. I even have a picture on the bathroom counter, and hanging on a bathroom wall. I love pictures, and I love frames.

There are pictures of Geoff and I, of course. Pictures of his family, our extended family, and our best friends. And, naturally, there are pictures of the kitties.

While I was printing out our professional pictures, I took the time to finally hang up this collage we got for Christmas. I love that it’s a mix of wedding pictures and our couples pictures!

It’s been years since I bought a brand new frame. I used to scour Marshalls and Home Goods for fun frames, and many of the frames I have now are from there.

So when we got our professional pictures taken, I knew I would get a few prints made, and put in frames, hanging around the house. After all, what good are pictures if you don’t look at them daily? I knew I wanted to put two 8 x 10 pictures on the wall next to our bed, but I also knew 8 x 10 frames are expensive, so I started looking at thrift stores, my favorite place to buy frames these days.

I was sad to discover that the frames they had to offer weren’t that impressive. The good ones were missing backs or glass, the bad ones were, well, bad. There were a few in decent shape, but most of them didn’t match, and I was feeling picky that night.

I finally settled on these bad boys. They’re in great shape, they match, and best of all? They were $3 because it was “wacky Wednesday” and I got 60% off.

Obviously I don’t need a couple faded pictures that say, “Tea and Honey” and “Happiness is having a friend by your side”, so I took those out.

I’m pretty pleased with the final result!

Don’t mind the not-so-great iPhone picture.

It’s hanging in our bedroom, next to the bed and I love it!

About Megg

I'm a 28 year old, newly married, newly living in Washington, librarian trying to find a job in a library. Meanwhile I'm working with kids and spend my afternoons playing Mancala and reading picture books. Come along for the journey as I share recipes, decoration ideas, photos, and hopefully gain some insight from the internet and fellow bloggers.

What do you think?

