Making an impact

Standard

When I was interviewing for summer camp at my job, one of the questions asked was, “how have you made an impact on a child?” My answer was this picture:

That says “I like Miss Meghan read to me”.

I didn’t exactly show her the drawing, but I did explain the picture, and the circumstances around it. That’s me, in my yellow staff shirt and jeans, with my brown hair. And that’s little E, with her purple dress and black hair. This was the first picture I’d received from one of my kids at work, and it melted my heart. I’ve written before on how much I love my job, and how much I continue to love it, even when it frustrates me too.

Every single day I make an impact on the kids in my classroom. Every day. I don’t realize it and I should, because with every word I speak to them, I’m impacting them, in some manner. I finally decided to compile a list of the little things kids do that make me realize how invaluable my job really is.

So here goes:

At least once a week one of my kids will run up to me and say, “Side hug?” I’ll give her a side hug (we have very specific rules about touch at work) and she’ll run off to play again.

The other day I was having a conversation with a parent, and reaching for something when I felt these little arms around my waist. It was his son, giving me a goodbye hug.

And then I get things like this:

As far as I can tell, that reads: Mrs. Megg, you are nice because you {look like?} a princess. Mrs. Megg your the nicest. From Abby.

Yup. I’m somehow related to a princess in a little kid’s mind. I’ve been compared to Adele and Rapunzel, as well.

But kids are sweet, and they do these things all the time. It’s the realization that something we’ve talked about has somehow actually been absorbed.

A few months ago we were talking about environmentalism and nature. We have weekly curriculum that we’re supposed to do, and all our projects revolve around that theme. I had recently harvested some dirt from my compost worm bin, so I brought it in, along with a glass of “compost tea” (water that comes out of the compost). We talked about it, and they seemed interested. The next week we moved on.

Almost 2 months later, on the bus, some of the kids were talking about compost, and how it’s trash. One of the kids disagreed, and I’m not sure what else he said, but I just remember him looking and me and saying, “Compost tea, right?”

Yes, A, compost tea. I’m so glad you were listening.

About Megg

I'm a 28 year old, newly married, newly living in Washington, librarian trying to find a job in a library. Meanwhile I'm working with kids and spend my afternoons playing Mancala and reading picture books. Come along for the journey as I share recipes, decoration ideas, photos, and hopefully gain some insight from the internet and fellow bloggers.

What do you think?

