Sometimes I just like Kelly Clarkson, okay?

Standard

I don’t like music. Except when I do. I like to pride myself on enjoying bands like Mumford and Sons or Florence and the Machine, bands that are a little less popular. I loved Snow Patrol and Plain White Ts before they were as mainstream as they are now.

The biggest thing that attracts me to a song is the music behind the lyrics. I loved “Pumped up Kicks” simply for the beat, before I learned what it’s about. (Confession: I still kinda like it) Mumford and Sons has the banjo and I love the way Snow Patrol’s songs sound.

Then, there’s Kelly Clarkson. By all intents and purposes I shouldn’t exactly like her music. And yet…I’m always attracted to it. It started with Behind These Hazel Eyes, which came out the spring Geoff and I started dating. I became disturbingly obsessed with that song until my best friend told me it was by Kelly Clarkson. So here I was, sucked into a pop song without even meaning to. Then, Stronger came out. I love it. I love the beat, I love the lyrics, I just love it all. Because sometimes you need to love a cheesy pop song.

While we’re at it, I also like Katy Perry.

About Megg

I'm a 28 year old, newly married, newly living in Washington, librarian trying to find a job in a library. Meanwhile I'm working with kids and spend my afternoons playing Mancala and reading picture books. Come along for the journey as I share recipes, decoration ideas, photos, and hopefully gain some insight from the internet and fellow bloggers.

2 responses »

  1. I actually own a Kelly Clarkson CD. Well it’s from iTunes, but I paid money for it, the whole thing, even though I rarely do that EVER. I don’t remember why, but I do know that it was during one of Dennis’ deployments. I listened to a much larger variety of music then, lol. I bought a bunch of country music AND so did he, but we’ve almost never listened to them when he’s not deployed, and I certainly never listened to them before that. LOL. Life is funny.

    • I’m glad I’m not alone, haha! I have talked about how songs have memories for me before, and I’d be willing to guess that country music is one of those things that has a memory attached for you, too. That’s sweet though.

What do you think?

