Blog Star: Hi I’m Megg!

Standard

First of all, thank you to Mrs. Monologues for the opportunity to show off my little bit of internet, and read other blogs too!

Just little old me.

I’m never quite sure what to write about for things like this, which is weird, because I love to talk about myself! I suppose I’ll start there. I write because it’s in my blood (see the “how did I get here” tab!) In a former life I was a reporter, but I decided to go back to school to be a librarian. Since I haven’t found a library job yet, I’m doing the next best thing…working with kids! I work at a before and after school child care program, soon to be summer camp. I spend my days working on crafts, playing Mancala and reading picture books. Meanwhile, I just have to write, so this is my creative outlet.

I have an Etsy shop where I mostly make jewelry. I love making jewelry, and thought I’d try to make a little money on my little habit! Go check it out, I think it’s pretty good stuff, but I guess I’m biased. I will make pretty much anything for you, though, so just ask!

Some of the things I talk about are, but are not limited to:

Beer (this is an old passion revived!)
Living frugally (Many more where that came from…)
My house and decorating (warning, I’m no interior designer!)
Our kitties. (many, many more where that came from too!)
My husband (and our slightly unusual how we met story!)

I also write about my depression. I don’t write long, waxing posts on how depressed I am, and how much life sucks, but it is part of my life, and I do write about it. Sometimes they are sad. Sometimes they’re helpful (I hope). You are welcome to skip them any time, but it’s part of me, and it can be very therapeutic to write about it. I choose to write about my depression because I want people to know they’re not alone. I want them to realize that this doesn’t have to be a taboo subject, and that there are others who struggle with the same things. I like to think I can help in some small way. Every few posts that I write on my depression I will get a comment from someone, thanking me for being open, or confessing that they, too struggle with depression. Like I said, I like to think I’m helping someone out there.

Enough of that. How about some pictures??

My sister and I in Disneyland (I’m on the left)

 

Geoff and I at Pike Place in Seattle

 

Just being silly and enjoying my straightened hair.

 

The bean! In Chicago.

And that’s me in a nutshell!

About Megg

I'm a 28 year old, newly married, newly living in Washington, librarian trying to find a job in a library. Meanwhile I'm working with kids and spend my afternoons playing Mancala and reading picture books. Come along for the journey as I share recipes, decoration ideas, photos, and hopefully gain some insight from the internet and fellow bloggers.

9 responses »

    • I love the bean so much! I take a pic with it whenever I go! When my sister moved away I was so sad I wouldn’t visit the bean anymore…but she’s moving back! Phew.

What do you think?

