Poop doesn’t belong on Facebook

Standard

Facebook has come a long way from the beginning. Remember when it was only open to people with a school email? Remember when you had to post a status with “is” in front of it? Then, remember when everyone and their grandmother were suddenly on Facebook, and you had to watch what you say, because your grandmother was reading? Remember when Facebook was for sharing your engagement, new relationships or pregnancies? Remember when Facebook was for sharing your baby’s poop habits?

Wait, what?

Yes, that’s right. My Facebook feed seems to have acquired a bad habit for regular baby poop discussions. From multiple people, too. Now, I love babies as much as the rest of you, for sure. I love seeing pictures, and I do enjoy the occasional silly comment on what your kid is saying. Heck, I get that every day! But poop discussions, or worse, pictures? No thank you.

So, Facebook, I respectfully request that you please stop posting about poop. I enjoy seeing your baby updates and seeing your babies growing, especially since I don’t have one of my own! And I’m not squeamish, it’s just that, well…Facebook is for keeping up with my friends, not my friend’s baby’s bowel movements.

If, when I have a kid, I pull shit like this (pun intended) please call me out and show me this post.

And if I’ve offended, then I’m sorry. Actually, I’m not. Poop doesn’t belong on Facebook.

About Megg

I'm a 28 year old, newly married, newly living in Washington, librarian trying to find a job in a library. Meanwhile I'm working with kids and spend my afternoons playing Mancala and reading picture books. Come along for the journey as I share recipes, decoration ideas, photos, and hopefully gain some insight from the internet and fellow bloggers.

6 responses »

  1. POOOOOOP! Couldn’t resist. This one cracked me up. πŸ˜‰

    I hope I’ve been able to avoid the poop discussions on facebook except in explicitly potty-training related posts, which happen, because that’s a huge part of life with toddlers. In those (hopefully few) cases, I suggest just skipping them. πŸ˜› Sometimes we need advice, and it’s actually important stuff.

    But other than those rare occasions, poop is probably not important enough to be shared with the public. Especially the pictures, which make me more curious than they should. Poop pictures, for REAL?? Why????

    But I’d wager to guess most poop posts (excluding photos) are probably a result of being really entrenched in baby raising. It can be a huge part of life when things are irregular, especially when you have important plans, important schedules, or some other important something in your life that is interrupted by something as disgusting as someone else’s poop (which seems like pretty much every possible opportunity, gah!). Not to mention you often have to plan your day around potty stops and possible bowel movement. AND since a baby can’t tell you what’s wrong, you have to use every possible clue you have to figure out if he/she is sick or whatever, including all that fun shit. When you take them in for checkups, doctors will expect you to answer all sorts of questions about their feces.

    I still agree it’s not necessary to put on facebook, but it could actually have significance to them, even if it seems inappropriate to you. Of course, I don’t actually know the posts you’re talking about, so maybe it’s all just crap. πŸ˜›

    • This was the best comment ever.
      Yeah, I suppose it is that…and since I’m not in that frame of mind/time of life it seems out of the blue/disturbing to me. But that makes sense. Wow, kids are WORK!
      There were 3 posts that inspired this: one about a projectile BM that got in a mom’s mouth, 1 about a baby making faces to get ready for a big poop and the final straw was a pic of a (relatively little) diaper blowout at the dr’s office. The worst part of that was the comment that someone didn’t miss “breast milk yellow”. Yeah.
      The funny thing is, after this I thought about posting about how annoyed I was that the vet didn’t take our poop samples b/c they were too old. Thankfully I thought that one through, haha!

What do you think?

