Whedon Wednesday…new series!

Standard

You know you’ve done it. Sitting on your couch, alone, or with someone else, watching someone you care about die. The tears fall silently down your cheeks as you stare in shock at the TV, the last breath leaving your favorite character. Your mouth hangs open, as your heart is torn out, and you don’t know how you can continue the series.

No one does this nearly as well as Joss Whedon. I sometimes think he’s in my head, noting the characters I love the most, and deciding to kill them, just to mess with me. He builds the most wonderful characters; characters you love, characters you love to hate, characters you don’t like in the beginning, but who grow on you…and then they die.

Born out of a love for all things Joss, my sister and I decided to do a series of eulogies on our favorite characters from all of Joss’s shows: Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Angel, Firefly, Dollhouse and Dr. Horrible’s Sing-along Blog. But there are so, so many characters, so we enlisted the help of Elspeth and Rachel, we have tackled the long list of deaths that have affected us in Joss’s (wonderful) work.

Stay tuned! The posts that I don’t write, I will link you to. Obviously, if you haven’t watched any of Joss’s work, or are in the middle of a show, you may want to avoid this series. If you haven’t watched any of Joss’s shows, stop reading and do that right now!

About Megg

I'm a 28 year old, newly married, newly living in Washington, librarian trying to find a job in a library. Meanwhile I'm working with kids and spend my afternoons playing Mancala and reading picture books. Come along for the journey as I share recipes, decoration ideas, photos, and hopefully gain some insight from the internet and fellow bloggers.

One response »

What do you think?

