Road trip 2012: Day 2 and the Grand Canyon!

Standard

Day 2 started with the Grand Canyon.

If you haven’t been to the Grand Canyon, you really need to go. It’s crazy. It’s huge, so overwhelmingly huge, and it’s just…cool. I took a million pictures, but I won’t post them all here because it’s probably going to be overwhelming to you! I will post them on Facebook though, so watch out!

Anyway, the Grand Canyon was awesome, made even more exciting by…

This chicken coop isn’t going to stop me!

It doesn’t look that big, but trust me, they’re like a small horse. They’re bigger than deer, and they weren’t afraid of people at all! (I zoomed in a lot, I didn’t get this close!) Since they live in a national park, they’re used to people but have no reason to fear them. They were fascinating.

After we left the Grand Canyon, we headed to Flagstaff to visit the Lowell Observatory, “Home of Pluto”! This observatory is still being used for research, but it was originally built by the man who discovered Pluto. It was very interesting! They even have a telescope set up just to monitor one of the moons on Jupiter.

We ended up staying in Moriarty, New Mexico, a little East of Albuquerque. We didn’t go as far as I thought we would, but we did do a lot of sight seeing and I’m really glad we did. We saw a few random things on the road too.

We drove through Winslow, Arizona where I stood on the corner

And we passed the Continental Divide!

We also ate at Cracker Barrel, because my sister had never been and really wanted to go! It was delicious, as I knew it would be.

Since we lost an hour by heading into Mountain Time when we crossed into New Mexico, it was an early night, anticipating an early start in the morning!

About Megg

I'm a 28 year old, newly married, newly living in Washington, librarian trying to find a job in a library. Meanwhile I'm working with kids and spend my afternoons playing Mancala and reading picture books. Come along for the journey as I share recipes, decoration ideas, photos, and hopefully gain some insight from the internet and fellow bloggers.

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: Uninspired « librarian, housewife, writer

What do you think?

