The day my eyes were opened

Standard

So here’s the thing. I used to be way more judgmental than I am now. I’m talking about homosexuality. I used to not be okay with it. Until the day homosexuality actually had a face.

It was 2005 and I was fresh out of college and doing what all new college graduates do: working full time at a coffee shop and living at home (let’s just pretend that this is what all college grads do, anyway). Those days, when I got up at 4:30 for a 5:00 shift were unforgettable. There were frustrating customers, annoying co-workers and biased managers. But there was also B. Oh, B…he made those mornings fly, some days. We joked, made fun of customers, had sword fights with stacks of cups and generally made light of what should have been a mundane job.

When I first started working there, B intimidated me. He flew around the shop, grabbing donuts and pouring coffee faster than anyone else I’d ever seen. He even took his smoke breaks quickly. But it wasn’t long before B’s silly jokes won me over, and we were soon good friends.

After work B and I, along with a few other fellow employees would often go out for margaritas, or Chinese food. B was always full of stories…working at the donut shop was simply a pastime for him.

When I was offered a full time job as a reporter, B was so happy for me. He took me out to lunch (margaritas at a local Mexican restaurant!) and played “My Wish” for me. To this day I still tear up when I hear that song. I knew I’d miss B, but I stayed on, working part time on Saturdays so I still saw him once a week.

One Saturday when I came in, B was there, getting the donuts and bagels ready for the day. We started talking, like usual, and he was babbling, going on and on about something, and when I finally caught on, I realized he was telling me he is gay. One of my favorite guy friends is gay.

He explained that he had hated keeping this from me all this time, and even though he knew my faith is important to me, he couldn’t imagine not telling me, his friend, about the biggest event in his life. He and J had gotten married.

It was a lot harder to be prejudiced towards homosexuals and gay marriage when, all of a sudden, there was a face. B changed my life, and I don’t even think he knows it, but I will always be grateful.

About Megg

I'm a 28 year old, newly married, newly living in Washington, librarian trying to find a job in a library. Meanwhile I'm working with kids and spend my afternoons playing Mancala and reading picture books. Come along for the journey as I share recipes, decoration ideas, photos, and hopefully gain some insight from the internet and fellow bloggers.

What do you think?

