30 before 30

Standard

Guys. I’m going to be 29 in September. I’m on the downward slide to entering the last year in my 20s. In fact, I will be entering my 30th year on this earth in September. Lets not think about it that way, though.

I have no idea what I thought 30 would bring. Actually, that’s a lie. I thought I’d be at least pregnant, if not working on a second baby by the time I was 30. That’s not the plan, however, and I’m OK with that. I’m not sure how I feel about looking at 30 in just over a year, but I do know that there are some things I want to accomplish before I turn 30. So, the cliche “30 before 30 list” is born.

Without further ado, and in no particular order, my 30 before 30 list:

1. Go to Disneyland with Geoff

2. Go on a tropical vacation with Geoff

3. Get to my goal weight

4. Get a job in a library, or at the very least become a supervisor at my current job

5. Finish my wedding scrapbook and get up-to-date on our vacation scrapbook

6. Go camping

7. Learn to play the banjo

8. Buy his and her recliners and a couch

9. Hire a professional to clean the house…just once!

10. Stop drinking soda

11. Have a dress up and go out date night with Geoff at least twice a month

12. Take an overnight trip to Canada with Geoff

13. Make homemade ice cream

14. Go to Yellowstone National Park

15. Go to the beach with Geoff (in Washington)

16. Dye my hair red (not crazy red!)

17. Get a massage

18. See the Red Sox and Mariners play in Seattle next summer (2013)

19. Have fondu at home

20. Make communion bread for church

21. Write in my journal regularly (at least once a week)

22. See the King Tut exhibit in Seattle

23. Chaperone a mission trip with the youth group at church

24. Start a gratitude journal and write something in it whenever I’m feeling negative

25. Put the laptop down in the evenings when we’re watching TV

26. Practice good dental hygiene

27. Visit 30 breweries in Washington

28. Reread The Great Gatsby (my sister’s English teacher told her class they should reread this book when they’re 30. It has been a good 15 years since I read it myself.)

29. Reread The Grapes of Wrath (I remember really enjoying it back in 9th grade and think it’ll be much more meaningful as an adult)

30. Love my kitties and Geoff every single day because you never know what tomorrow brings.

About Megg

I'm a 28 year old, newly married, newly living in Washington, librarian trying to find a job in a library. Meanwhile I'm working with kids and spend my afternoons playing Mancala and reading picture books. Come along for the journey as I share recipes, decoration ideas, photos, and hopefully gain some insight from the internet and fellow bloggers.

One response »

  1. Sounds like fun! 🙂 Fondu is fun. If you want chocolate, there is a brand that does home parties, it’s basically Scentsy with chocolate but it’s called Velata. My friend sells it so I offered my home for some sampling a couple months ago, hahah.

    I might have to come up with my own 30 before 30. I’m pretty set on 29 being awesome, lol.

What do you think?

