Bellingham brewery tour!

Standard

A few weekends ago we decided to head north 2 hours to Bellingham to visit a few breweries. This plan started as an overnight trip to Portland, but we decided instead to just do a day trip, since schedules weren’t permitting the overnight trip.

Our first stop was our favorite of the day, Boundary Bay! We tried a sampler and had lunch. I decided my favorite was, surprisingly, the Scotch ale, which is unusual for me as I don’t typically like Scotches!

 

The inside was a mixture of nautical decorations. It was different, and the food was good, if small portions (we shared a pizza). We decided to get a growler and filled it with the Scotch Ale.

 

Our next stop was Chuckanut Brewery. This one was small and tucked away, but the beer was good.

 

Next was Kulshan Brewery. Yes, we did get samplers at (almost) all the breweries, and Geoff and I shared them. We also spent 8 hours visiting 5 breweries, so we spread out our drinking! Don’t think we’re alcoholics…this was a very unusual weekend!

I didn’t like the beers at Kulshan. I made Geoff get his own sampler because I knew there was only one I’d like…a pale ale. The rest were too dark for me!

Nice sign, but I wasn’t impressed inside.

Next, we visited North Sound Brewing Company. The beer was pretty good here, and the bartender working was very nice. There was a beer festival going on in the same town so there was virtually no one there, which was nice too.

 

We had a sampler here, but none blew my skirt up, as it were.

Our last stop of the day (and dinner) was Skagit River Brewery. The food was good, and the beer was too. We filled our growler with their lager, since I love a good lager and not many breweries make lagers around here, for some reason.

 

So there you have it. Eight hours, 5 breweries, lots of beer. Oh, and a glass at each brewery! We have so many now that we’ve decided to limit our collecting to glasses we think are especially nice looking or from somewhere not around here.

 

Where samplers range from $6-10 and glasses $3-5, it really isn’t an expensive hobby! There most definitely could be worse hobbies to have, I suppose!

About Megg

I'm a 28 year old, newly married, newly living in Washington, librarian trying to find a job in a library. Meanwhile I'm working with kids and spend my afternoons playing Mancala and reading picture books. Come along for the journey as I share recipes, decoration ideas, photos, and hopefully gain some insight from the internet and fellow bloggers.

2 responses »

    • Washington has the second most craft breweries in the country…second only to California. I can’t believe how many there are within a stones throw of where I live, even!

What do you think?

