ER. And 2005.

Standard

I love Netflix. It allows me to watch TV in it’s correct order. Lost. Dawson’s Creek. Psych. Grey’s Anatomy. Don’t judge me for my TV choices.

I just finished watching all 7 seasons of Boy Meets World. Boy was that a blast from the past. I loved seeing them grow and change through the years. The characters are only 2 years older than me, so it was a favorite show growing up.

Yesterday I started ER. The moment the disc was inserted the opening music started. All of a sudden it was 2006 again.

I was sitting in my bedroom, it was summer and I was working at Dunkin Donuts. TNT used to show a series of shows starting at 9. From 9-10 was Charmed, but from 10-12 were 2 episodes of ER. Usually I was working from 5-12 pm, but on my days off I slept in, rolled out of bed somewhere between 9 and 10 and started watching ER. Two episodes later it was noon, and about time for me to get my day started. I’d head out, grab Bagel World and go get my best friend, who sleeps like the dead and sleeps a lot. Usually she was up and moving by the time I got there, and I’d have lunch and coffee for us.

Those were the days. I wasn’t depressed, I’d just graduated from college and I hadn’t met Geoff yet. My days were consumed with attending Little League sports games for a paper I was freelancing for, working at Dunkin Donuts and my best friend. Life was perfect.

I met Geoff in December, and by May of 2006 I was working full time for a newspaper. Gone were the days of watching ER and getting lunch. Gone were the days of spending hours with my best friend, working on our scrapbooks and watching the Lifetime man-hating movie of the week, as one of my good friends calls it.

I had no idea how wonderful those days were until I heard the opening tones of the ER theme music. All of a sudden I wanted nothing more than to get those hot, summer days back. The lesson? Hold onto the precious moments. The moments that make you happy, even if they aren’t big things. Because someday, 7 years down the line you’ll look back and miss them.

 

 

About Megg

I'm a 28 year old, newly married, newly living in Washington, librarian trying to find a job in a library. Meanwhile I'm working with kids and spend my afternoons playing Mancala and reading picture books. Come along for the journey as I share recipes, decoration ideas, photos, and hopefully gain some insight from the internet and fellow bloggers.

One response »

What do you think?

