Painted upholstery chair reveal!

Standard

This is by far one of the biggest rehab projects I’ve undertaken. As such, it took me several months, but that was mostly because I’m a little lazy. However, I think the end result is totally worth the pain it was.

First of all, the before.

Ahh look at that 80s fabric.

I followed this tutorial for painting upholstered furniture. Yes, I painted upholstered furniture. It was…interesting. I don’t do reupholstering, so this was really the only option I could find. I found this by searching Pinterest for wing back chairs. I picked these up from Freecycle, so I figured if it was a total flop then I was only out a half gallon of paint.

Anyway, it took several coats before they were completely covered.

 

I used Martha Stewart Cornucopia for the paint, and got regular wall paint for it.

And the end result:

 

The end result looks a little like leather (I got asked a few times if it is leather, actually when I originally posted) and it does feel a little stiff to sit in. However, considering our front room is more for show than actual use, I think that’s just fine.

 

Here’s the view into the room from the hallway. I love the way they match the curtains, and for a dark room (our house is very shadowed by a few large trees) I think they really brighten it up.

 

Basically, I’m in love.

About Megg

I'm a 28 year old, newly married, newly living in Washington, librarian trying to find a job in a library. Meanwhile I'm working with kids and spend my afternoons playing Mancala and reading picture books. Come along for the journey as I share recipes, decoration ideas, photos, and hopefully gain some insight from the internet and fellow bloggers.

2 responses »

What do you think?

