Mapping it out

Standard

Four years.

Four road trips.

One round trip cross country road trip from Massachusetts to Washington and back to Massachusetts via Alabama.

One map to mark every trip.

I’ve had this idea for a long time, but finally got around to actually putting it together. It’s a good thing I waited too since my sister and I took what I hope is my last road trip this summer.

With every road trip I take, I mark it on my map. The yellow stars are states I’ve visited, and the red ones are states I’ve lived in.

I wanted to mount the map on a canvas and hang it up, but large canvases are expensive, so I put the project to the side. That is until Michael’s emailed me a 50% off coupon! Hello cheap canvas! For only $12 I was able to get the proper size canvas and my project was underway!

Hermione supervises the drying.

I used spray adhesive to start with, and painted mod-podge over the top. It was simple and easy; I was actually surprised at how easily it came together!

I knew exactly where I wanted to hang it. Behind the door, in the living room it compliments the wall color and is unobtrusively on display.

I love it, and Sam Adams approves.

For the record, the road trips marked on the map are as follows:

February 2008, Massachusetts to Pullman, Washington

August 2008, (South) Idaho to Tuscaloosa, Alabama

December 2009, Tuscaloosa, Alabama to Reading, Massachusetts

July 2012, Los Angeles, California to Chicago, Illinois.

Those first 3 trips I was moving, the last one I was moving my sister. I like to think I’m settled, now. I hope so, anyway!

Have you ever decorated with maps?

In honor of my new nephew, use code BabyCash for 20% off your order in my shop!

About Megg

I'm a 28 year old, newly married, newly living in Washington, librarian trying to find a job in a library. Meanwhile I'm working with kids and spend my afternoons playing Mancala and reading picture books. Come along for the journey as I share recipes, decoration ideas, photos, and hopefully gain some insight from the internet and fellow bloggers.

2 responses »

  1. “I took what I hope is my last road trip…”
    I’d take another road trip in a heartbeat, and I’ve made a few… MA to TN/AL, WI for a long weekend, Boston to S Williamsport PA, and back for a little league game, MA to WA/ID & MA to southern CA, Chicago to Boston… to NC, to CO, WY &SD, to the Canadian Maritimes,& to Toronto, even from Budapest to Eastern Croatia, and across the Brazilian countryside. Maybe it’s knowing there is home to return to in the end, but never turn down an opportunity for a road trip, for if you do you’ll always wonder what you missed!
    = Crazy Mr Steve +

What do you think?

