CSA week 1: radishes, spinach, and pasta, among other things

Standard

csa

Geoff and I have been talking about doing a CSA since the first summer we were married, and it never really worked out. This year, however, a CSA share came up with a drop-off location at Geoff’s work. So, we signed up!

I’m a terrible vegetable eater. If I had my way, I’d never eat my veggies and if I did, it would be broccoli. Every night. So this is perfect for me because it gives me a chance to get out of my veggie-comfort zone. I decided it would be fun to blog about it. The CSA is 20 weeks, so I can’t guarantee that I’ll blog about it every week, nor do you want me to, I’m sure. I figured it would be interesting to talk about the recipes we try and the things we get in the box.

This week we got:

Lettuce
Baby spinach
Radishes
Spring garlic
Strawberries
Spring onions
Fresh pasta (1 pound of wheat spaghetti)

We decided to do the pasta add-on because we love pasta and figured fresh pasta would be fun to try.

Right away I wrapped the lettuce and spinach in paper towels and put them in a bag in the fridge. This seems to have kept them fresh, thank goodness. I have trouble with eating a whole head of lettuce, despite my best efforts so hopefully this keeps it fresh. The strawberries we ate right away because, yum! They were so red and delicious, I was sad that we only had a small box! Oh well, hopefully we’ll get more.

I’ve never had radishes or spring onions (which are basically just onions that are pulled early in the season, I guess) and I’d never heard of spring garlic, so I did some Pinterest-ing!

I pinned a few things, and we tried this recipe for the radishes and onions. I don’t normally like onions and was surprised that these really did taste sweet! The radishes weren’t bad either. All in all, we really liked this recipe, and it was easy. The lemon really made a difference, so if you make it, don’t forget that part. We used half the fresh spaghetti and I totally didn’t take any pictures.

To use some of the spinach and an apple, we made this salad. Um, delicious. We left out the almonds because we didn’t have any, and I’d honestly take it to work if the apple wouldn’t brown by the time I ate it. Hmm, maybe I will still try. Anyway, no pictures of that either because this idea only came to me recently.

Since this post is getting long, I’ll save the spring garlic recipe for another day. Stay tuned.

About Megg

I'm a 28 year old, newly married, newly living in Washington, librarian trying to find a job in a library. Meanwhile I'm working with kids and spend my afternoons playing Mancala and reading picture books. Come along for the journey as I share recipes, decoration ideas, photos, and hopefully gain some insight from the internet and fellow bloggers.

What do you think?