CSA week 1, part 2: spring garlic

Standard

csa

 

See that weird looking thing with the roots in front of this picture? That’s spring garlic, sometimes called green garlic. It’s basically garlic that is picked early, and it isn’t as strong as regular garlic. I had no idea what to do with it, so, Pinterest to the rescue!

We tried a recipe called Green Garlic Fettuccine, except we used spaghetti. It wasn’t bad, although I kept eating pieces of garlic “skin” that I didn’t like. I did peel the garlic, but it probably has that all through the bulb, or whatever you call garlic.

DSC_0891

 

Anyway, the consensus was we would cook this recipe again!

Stay tuned to see what we get next!

 

About Megg

I'm a 28 year old, newly married, newly living in Washington, librarian trying to find a job in a library. Meanwhile I'm working with kids and spend my afternoons playing Mancala and reading picture books. Come along for the journey as I share recipes, decoration ideas, photos, and hopefully gain some insight from the internet and fellow bloggers.

What do you think?